Book Review: This Is Why We Lied (Will Trent #12) by Karin Slaughter

“One toxic family. Eight suspicious guests. Everyone is guilty. But who is a killer?”

Set to be published on 20th June and the 12th book in the Will Trent series by Karin Slaughter, This Is Why We Lied is set at the McAlpine Lodge, a secluded mountain getaway, the height of escapist luxury living. Except that everyone here is lying. Lying about their past. Lying to their family. Lying to themselves. Then one night, Mercy McAlpine – until now the good daughter – threatens to expose everybody’s secrets. Just hours later, Mercy is dead.

Rating:

Thank you to NetGalley for a free advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

As a bigggg fan of Karin Slaughter and of this series, it’s no surprise that this was one of my most anticipated releases of 2024. And now I can confirm that it will definitely be one of my favourite reads of 2024, as I absolutely loved it!

This book does feel very different to the rest of the series as Will and Sara are supposed to be on their honeymoon and not working. And even though Faith and Amanda make an appearance as well, it’s not quite the same. But I enjoyed the break away from the norm and getting my favourite characters mixed up in a remote murder mystery. It was like having my two favourite things combined, and it was great to see these characters in a less official setting, doing what they do best and still getting the answers while stuck in the middle of nowhere.

My only slight criticism – as a fan of the series – is that there isn’t a whole lot of character development. Personally, I thought it was a slight shame that we didn’t get to see more of the side to Will and Sara that I love, especially now that they are married, as I feel like they’ve taken such a big step for them to get married, and I’m gutted that we didn’t get to experience more of it with them.

But hey, I’ll take any time with them, and this also makes it a great book for anybody who hasn’t read any of the other books to get a feel for the series, so I hope it brings in some new fans too!

What we do have, though, is Slaughter’s great storytelling with a brilliantly-investigated crime and some very dark twists. Please do check the trigger warnings because Slaughter is not an author for the faint-hearted. And talk about a toxic family. Boy, the McAlpines are a mess. I had my heart in my mouth when reading the revelations at the end.

As with most of Slaughter’s books, the chapters are long and some will feel that the story could be shorter. But you get used to that with Slaughter, and I could happily read her writing nonstop, as I find her books such a comfort (despite the dark subject matters!).

If you like dark crimes, don’t miss This Is Why We Lied this summer!

Details:

This Is Why We Lied by Karin Slaughter
Series: Will Trent #12
Release Date: 20th June 2024
Print Length: 448 pages
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Harper Collins

Please Leave A Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑