BLOG TOUR: One Perfect Grave (Nikki Hunt #2) by Stacy Green

“She didn’t see the patch of black ice until it was too late. The car started to spin, and as it veered off into the deep ditch and the mounds of snow beside the road, she saw him. The little boy frozen in the ice.”

The second book in Stacy Green‘s Nikki Hunt series, One Perfect Grave sees Special Agent Nikki Hunt investigate a new cast when the remains of two bodies are found in an open grave along a desolate highway in Stillwater, Minnesota. And she knows exactly who they are. The bright blue jacket lying on the frozen earth belongs to Kellan Rhodes, the missing boy she’s desperately been trying to find for the last two days. The other body is his mother Dana, who had been Nikki’s lead suspect. Although the wounds on Dana’s body suggest she murdered her son and took her own life, Nikki finds evidence that suggests she was a victim too. Dana was desperately trying to regain custody of Kellan, and Nikki finds boot prints at the scene that belong to someone else. When another child is reported missing, local journalist Caitlin Newport claims the cases are linked: Zach Reeves was taken away from his own mother in a custody battle, just like Kellan was. Caitlin once helped Nikki find out the truth about her own parents’ murders, but her desire for a story nearly cost Nikki her life. Now, Nikki must decide if she can trust Caitlin again, before time runs out to find the killer and bring Zach home alive.

Rating:

Today is my stop on the blog tour for this book. Thank you to Bookouture and NetGalley for a free advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

One Perfect Grave is a suspenseful mystery that’s brilliantly developed to invest you in likeable characters and a sensitive case that’s full of potential suspects.

I read the first book in the series, The Girls In The Snow, last month in anticipation for the release of this next one. But although I really liked it, I wasn’t completely invested. This second instalment definitely grabbed my full attention, though, and I’m already eager for more.

You don’t need to have read the first book to enjoy this one as Green does a brilliant job of summarising the events that took place. I would definitely recommend reading it still as it’s a big occasion in Nikki’s life, but you will get a good idea of what happened and what led Nikki back to her hometown.

Either way, Green spends a lot of time getting you investing in the characters by allowing you get to know them both at work and at home. We get to see many sides to Nikki’s life which is what makes her so compelling, and it’s no wonder she’s becoming a character that so many people are excited to follow. But all of the supporting characters are developed just as well too. We even get to know Caitlin more in-depth this time, who wasn’t easy to get along with in the first book. But you’ll certainly see a different side to her now, and it’s these well-crafted relationships that will keep you so engaged.

So far, both of these books have shocked me at the end with the revelation of the killer, with One Perfect Grave yet again taking me by complete surprise. There are many twists and turns and potential suspects to keep you guessing, as Green manages to hold off right until the very end to give anything away, bringing together two crimes in a well-paced and clever way.

The underlying theme of missing and exploited children is a heartbreaking one but it’s comforting to know the lengths that some crime units go to to bring these children home. I think the killer’s life needed unravelling a little more at the end as a lot of what was said was just speculation so I wanted their actions to be laid bare, but the author’s note at the end gives it a touching conclusion.

The only disappointing thing about this book is that a certain subplot from the first book isn’t picked up on. This elusive character only gets a brief mention, but I’m really hoping that the next book will give him the focus that fans of this series are no doubt craving. It’s a great ploy by Green as we’re going to keep coming back for more to see Nikki solve the case that’s been haunting her for five years now, but I would have liked for him to be mentioned again at the end–maybe a hint that we’re going to meet him sometime soon? Because I don’t imagine that he’s going to only be a background character for much longer, as our interest in him may not last another instalment if his inclusion is neglected again.

So there are plenty of reasons to look forward to another Nikki Hunt book, especially since this second instalment is a vast improvement on a book that I really enjoyed already. And I have the feeling that they are only going to get better!

If you’re looking for a fresh, new detective to follow or just for a captivating thriller with expert police procedural, Nikki Hunt is definitely a series that I would recommend.

Details:

One Perfect Grave by Stacy Green
Release Date: 25th February 2021
Print Length: 292 pages
Genre: Detective Thriller
Publisher: Bookouture

Buy on: Amazon | Apple | Kobo | Google

Synopsis:

She didn’t see the patch of black ice until it was too late. The car started to spin, and as it veered off into the deep ditch and the mounds of snow beside the road, she saw him. The little boy, frozen in the ice.

When the remains of two bodies are found in an open grave along a desolate highway in Stillwater, Minnesota, Special Agent Nikki Hunt knows exactly who they are. The bright blue jacket lying on the frozen earth belongs to Kellan Rhodes, the missing boy she’s desperately been trying to find for the last two days. The other body is his mother Dana, who had been Nikki’s lead suspect.

Although the wounds on Dana’s body suggest she murdered her son and took her own life, Nikki finds evidence that suggests she was a victim too. Dana was desperately trying to regain custody of Kellan, and Nikki finds boot prints at the scene that belong to someone else.

When another child is reported missing, local journalist Caitlin Newport claims the cases are linked: Zach Reeves was taken away from his own mother in a custody battle, just like Kellan was.

Caitlin once helped Nikki find out the truth about her own parents’ murders, but her desire for a story nearly cost Nikki her life. Now, Nikki must decide if she can trust Caitlin again, before time runs out to find the killer and bring Zach home alive…

An unputdownable thriller that will make your heart pound until its final, shocking conclusion. Perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Lisa Gardner and readers who want to binge read into the night.

About The Author:

Stacy Green is the author of the Lucy Kendall thriller series and the Delta Crossroads mystery trilogy. ALL GOOD DEEDS (Lucy Kendall #1) won a bronze medal for mystery and thriller at the 2015 IPPY Awards. TIN GOD (Delta Crossroads #1) was runner-up for best mystery/thriller at the 2013 Kindle Book Awards. Stacy has a love of thrillers and crime fiction, and she is always looking for the next dark and twisted novel to enjoy. She started her career in journalism before becoming a stay at home mother and rediscovering her love of writing. She lives in Iowa with her husband and daughter and their three spoiled fur babies.

Find out more at: stacygreenauthor.com and www.Facebook.com/StacyGreenAuthor

Please Leave A Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: