Book Review: This Nowhere Place by Natasha Bell

“That’s the thing about our town: people only come here if they’re going somewhere else.”

Set to be released on 18th March, This Nowhere Place by Natasha Bell tells the story of one grey afternoon, high on the cliffs of Dover, when two girls agree to help a stranger. Within months, two of the three girls are dead. In the years that follow, local legend grows around the events of that summer – and, with the one survivor refusing to speak, it seems the truth will never emerge. Until a documentary-maker arrives, determined to solve the mystery of the Dover Girls. But some will stop at nothing to keep this town’s secrets…

Rating:

Thank you to NetGalley for a free advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I was eager to pick up this book as it was described as “A tense, atmospheric and powerful drama for fans of Emma Cline and Jane Harper.” And I love Jane Harper because of how she pulls you into her story. Sadly, I didn’t feel that for This Nowhere Place, as I struggled to connect to the story and its characters.

I loved the documentary-style narrative that is used in places to help tell the story in an interesting way. I also appreciate Natasha Bell’s efforts of using a refugee’s experience to support her story with a fresh and open-minded approach. But I wanted to feel the harsh breeze standing on the cliffs of Dover and taste the salt from the sea winds, and I didn’t feel this atmosphere at all.

This Nowhere Place is most definitely a well-written drama that deals with its issues sensitively. But because the themes are quite heavy and the characters are burdened by grief, jealousy, and guilt, it’s difficult to be compelled by their stories. The story comes together well in the end but I wasn’t gripped by the thriller elements, so I just struggled to remain invested.

Details:

This Nowhere Place by Natasha Bell
Release Date: 18th March 2021
Print Length: 400 pages
Genre: Psycological Thriller
Publisher: Penguin Michael Joseph

Please Leave A Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: