Book Review: Lethal Game (DI Joel Norris #2) by Charlie Gallagher

“He knows your name. Where you live. The car you drive. If you don’t play, your family will die. If you lose, you will.”

Set to be published on 11th November, Lethal Game by Charlie Gallagher is the second book in the DI Joel Norris series which sees the DI alongside DS Lucy Rose begin to investigate the death of a young woman, murdered on a quiet country lane, they can’t imagine what lies ahead. This killer uses his victims like chess pieces in a life-sized contest, with the highest stakes imaginable. Now, Norris and Rose are pawns at the mercy of a twisted rulebook. Can they beat him at his own game before the next round begins and more innocent lives are taken?

Rating:

I won a copy of Lethal Game through the publisher, so I didn’t know what to expect from this book having not read anything by the author before. But the premise had me instantly intrigued, so I knew that this was a book that I wanted to read as soon as I could.

A sinister and tension-fuelled thriller, Lethal Game is a cleverly written and skillfully developed detective thriller centred around a gruesome series of crimes. Unique, dark and high-octane, this book seriously took me by surprise.

I was worried at times that the police procedural side of the story was so in-depth that this may deter my interest in the story. But I was constantly gripped. It’s obvious that author Charlie Gallagher has had experience working in the police force as there’s a lot of insider knowledge about how a small team operates and how a crime is investigated, and his knowledge prevails throughout.

By the final section, I didn’t want to put this book down and my heart was pounding as I reached the final conclusions. Full of tense action and shocking twists, I felt like I was watching a TV series with the intensity and striking imagery of each crime that Gallagher describes.

Although this is the second book in the series, it can definitely be read as a standalone. I have a feeling that one of the minor characters may have been introduced in the first book as I didn’t understand his significance, but I had no other problems with getting into this story.

If you like the masterful concept of escape rooms or the nail-biting pressure of films such as Saw, then this is a book that you have to read. I will definitely be heading back to the first book in the series, The Friend, and keeping an eye out for what Gallagher writes next.

Details:

Lethal Game by Charlie Gallagher
Release Date: 11th November 2021
Print Length: 416 pages
Genre: Detective Thriller
Publisher: Avon

Synopsis:

He knows your name. Where you live. The car you drive.

If you don’t play, your family will die. If you lose, you will.

When DI Joel Norris and DS Lucy Rose begin investigating the death of a young woman, murdered on a quiet country lane, they can’t imagine what lies ahead.

This killer uses his victims like chess pieces in a life-sized contest, with the highest stakes imaginable.

Now Norris and Rose are pawns at the mercy of a twisted rulebook.

Can they beat him at his own game before the next round begins and more innocent lives are taken?

A totally addictive, edge-of-your-seat, crime-thriller that will leave you breathless. Perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride.

About The Author:

Charlie Gallagher has been writing for twenty years, most of that time as a hobby but with the dream of one day ‘doing it properly.’ Alongside this hobby, it was necessary to have a day job which, for thirteen years, was as a serving UK police officer. This career in policing opened up a whole new world of experiences and opportunities and he is now fortunate enough to be able to channel those experiences into stories on a full-time basis.

Whilst a police officer, Charlie worked as a response officer, a member of a specialist tactical team, a detective and in a regional counter-terrorism unit.

His books are thrillers and, rather unsurprisingly, policing and crime are central to the stories.

Charlie lives on the south coast of the U.K with his wife and two daughters, a springer spaniel, a tortoise and a cat with a far higher number of twitter followers. Charlie is published by Joffe Books and Avon, Harper Collins.

Please Leave A Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: