Book Review: Skin Privilege (Grant County #6) by Karin Slaughter


Originally published in 2007 and the sixth and final book in the Grant County series by Karin Slaughter, Skin Privilege centres on Lena Adams who has spent her life struggling to forget her childhood in Reece, the small town which nearly destroyed her. She’s made a new life for herself as a police detective in Heartsdale, a hundred miles away – but nothing could prepare her for the violence which explodes when she is forced to return. A vicious murder leaves a young woman incinerated beyond recognition. And Lena is the only suspect.

When Heartsdale police chief Jeffrey Tolliver, Lena’s boss, receives word that his detective has been arrested, he has no choice but to go to Lena’s aid – taking with him his wife, medical examiner Sara Linton. But soon after their arrival, a second victim is found. The town closes ranks. And both Jeffrey and Sara find themselves entangled in a horrifying underground world of bigotry and rage – a violent world which shocks even them. But can they discover the truth before the killer strikes again?

Continue reading “Book Review: Skin Privilege (Grant County #6) by Karin Slaughter”

Book Review: Faithless (Grant County #5) by Karin Slaughter

Originally published in 2005 and the fifth book in the Grant County series by Karin Slaughter, Faithless follows Georgia medical examiner Sara Linton and police chief Jeffrey Tolliver who, while taking a walk in the woods, stumble across the body of a young girl. Incarcerated in the ground, all the initial evidence indicates that she has, quite literally, been scared to death. But as Sara embarks on the autopsy, something even more horrifying comes to light. Something which shocks even Sara.

Continue reading “Book Review: Faithless (Grant County #5) by Karin Slaughter”

Book Review: Indelible (Grant County #4) by Karin Slaughter

“There were good guys and bad guys, and to protect one, you did what you had to do to the other.”

The fourth book in Karin Slaughter‘s Grant County series and originally published in 2005, Indelible follows medical examiner Sara Linton and police chief Jeffrey Tolliver who take a trip away from the small town of Heartsdale. It should be a straightforward weekend at the beach, but they decide to take a detour via Jeffrey’s hometown and things go violently wrong when Jeffrey’s best friend Robert shoots dead an intruder who breaks into his home.

Twelve years later, Sara and Jeffrey are caught up in a shockingly brutal attack that threatens to destroy both their lives. But they’re not random victims. They’ve been targeted. And it seems the past is catching up with both of them.

Continue reading “Book Review: Indelible (Grant County #4) by Karin Slaughter”

Book Review: A Faint Cold Fear (Grant County #3) by Karin Slaughter

“An autopsy was an act of violence itself, the ultimate invasion. Everybody tells a story. A person’s life and death can be exposed in all their glory and shame simply by looking beneath the skin.”

A Faint Cold Fear is the third book in Karin Slaughter‘s Grant County series that sees medical examiner Sara Linton investigate a suicide at the local college campus. But while it looks straightforward, it just doesn’t add up to Sara. When two more suspicious deaths follow and a young woman is brutally attacked, it becomes clear that she’s looking for a murderer. The college authorities are reluctant to cooperate and Sara isn’t any closer to finding the answers she needs. With the violence triggering memories of a past she’d rather forget and the clues pointing ever closer to home, can she uncover the truth in time to save the next victim?

Continue reading “Book Review: A Faint Cold Fear (Grant County #3) by Karin Slaughter”

Book Review: Kisscut (Grant County #2) by Karin Slaughter

“As if they could understand what she had been through. As if they knew what it was like to be strong and invincible one day and completely powerless the next.”

The second book in the Grant County series by Karin Slaughter and originally published in 2002, Kisscut sees Sara Linton – the town’s paediatrician and medical examiner – find herself entangled in a terrible tragedy when a teenage quarrel explodes into a deadly shoot-out. What seemed at first to be a horrific but individual catastrophe proves to have wider implications when the autopsy reveals evidence of long-term abuse. But when Sara and police chief Jeffrey Tolliver start to investigate, they are frustrated at every turn. Meanwhile, detective Lena Adams, still recovering from her sister’s death and her own brutal attack, finds herself drawn to a young man who might hold the answers. But unless Lena, Sara, and Jeffrey can solve this case, it’s going to happen again.

Continue reading “Book Review: Kisscut (Grant County #2) by Karin Slaughter”

Book Review: Blindsighted (Grant County #1) by Karin Slaughter

“Sara’s hand shook as she pressed her fingers against Sibyl’s carotid artery. A fluttering rose against her fingertips, but Sara wasn’t sure if it was the tremor in her own hands or life that she was feeling. Sara closed her eyes, concentrating, trying to separate the two sensations.”

The 2001 book by Karin Slaughter and the first in her Grant County series, Blindsighted is set in a small Georgia town which erupts in panic when a young college professor is found brutally mutilated in the local diner. But it’s only when town paediatrician and coroner Sara Linton does the autopsy that the full extent of the killer’s twisted work becomes clear. Sara’s ex-husband, police chief Jeffrey Tolliver, leads the investigation as a trail of terror grows increasingly macabre when another local woman is found crucified a few days later. But he’s got more than a sadistic serial killer on his hands, for the county’s sole female detective, Lena Adams (the first victim’s sister) wants to serve her own justice.

Continue reading “Book Review: Blindsighted (Grant County #1) by Karin Slaughter”

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑